NHL Awards 2003

Here are the nominees for NHL Awards on Thursday and my predictions.

Hart Trophy:

Martin Brodeur NJ

Markus Naslund VAN

Peter Forsberg COL

Forsberg will win because of what he brings to his team. Another 100+ point season. He took part in the winning stretch without Joe Sakic. He helped Milan Hedjuk get 50 goal and he brings needed energy to his team. He had one of the best +/- in the league. And all this was after not playing until the playoffs this year. Forsberg is the choice.

Vezina Trophy

Martin Brodeur NJ

Ed Belfour TOR

Marty Turco DAL

Turco was 31-10-10 with a 1.72 GAA tops in the League and a .932 save percentage — also a League best and seven shutouts. Had he not missed several weeks with an ankle injury, Turco’s statistics would be all the more impressive. However this is the season for Brouder. He was there throughout for the entire season and his time has come. He kept his team into games and made key saves. I would say that if Turco was not injured then he would win. However he missed most of the second half of the year.

Norris Trophy

Nicklas Lidstrom DET

Al MacInnis STL

Derian Hatcher DAL

Face it the Blues goaltending was horrible this year. However, with and excellent defense they were able to make the playoffs. Without Chris Pronger, Al MacInnis stepped up along with Calder candidate Barret Jackman and created one of the best D combinations in the game. For this reason I think they will both win their respective awards. MacInnis also has amazing offensive skills.

Calder Trophy

Rick Nash CLU

Barret Jackman STL

Henrik Zetterberg DET

Out of all of these Nash will be the best five years down the line. He however has no previous experience in a real league. Zetterberg was great with Hull, however as I wrote by the Norris, Jackman was the best. He deserves it. He helped a bad goaltending team make the playoffs. He made everyone forgot that normally they would have this guy named Pronger.

Selke Trophy

John Madden NJ

Wes Walz MIN

Jere Lehtinen DAL

On a normal year there would be Michael Peca up here. However, he was injured. So this year I will give it to Madden. He was there throughout the playoffs to counter some of the best lines in hockey. This will be a close call though since everyone here could win it.

Jack Adams Trophy

Jacques Martin OTT

Jacques Lemaire MIN

John Tortorella TAM

The Jack Adams Award is awarded annually “to the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.”

Ottowa’s success came from their talent. They could have been there with other coaches. Tortorella had the guys before. They got where they got from St. Louis and Prospal having amazing years. This will go to Lemaire. He has done the most for his team and took a 3rd year team to the Conference finals.